Category Archives: Discography

Way North album!

Michael Herring and I have just finished mixing and mastering (with Jean Martin) a new recording that we made while living in Brooklyn
this past winter/spring. The album features Petr Cancura-tenor, Richie Barshay-drums, Michael Herring-bass and myself-trumpet and compositions by all four of us. It was recorded beautifully in New Jersey at Tedesco Studios. I can’t wait to share it with you!

Come back soon for more info on this!Leaf

Barnyard Drama Christmas Singalong album Vol. 9

1. Christmas Time Is Here (Vince Guaraldi/Lee Mendelson)
2. Christmasween (John Southworth )MP3
3. Garbage Paradise (Justin Haynes/Ryan Driver)
4. The Cherry Tree Carol (Child Ballad #54)
5. The Christ Child’s Lullaby (Traditional)
6. Immaculate Conception High School (Thom Gill)
7. Jingle Gentlemen (Nick Fraser) MP3
8. White Christmas (Irving Berlin)
9. Suzy Snowflake (Sid Tepper/Roy C. Bennett)
10. Rockin’ Around The Christmas Tree (Johnny Marks)
11. Where Do Kings Come From? (Ryan Driver/Justin Haynes)
12. This Is What I Want (Mary Margaret O’Hara) MP3
13. The Little Drummer Boy (Katherine Kennicott Davis)
Barnyard Drama
Produced by Jean Martin
Recorded, Mixed and Mastered December 5 – 17, 2012 @ The Farm
Artwork by Jean Martin
Jean Martin drums (2, 3, 6, 9, 10, 11, 13) handclaps (2, 6) voice (13) mellotron (11) Christine Duncan voice (5, 6, 9, 10) theremin (1) trombone (9, 10) tambourine/handclaps (2, 6) drum (13) Justin Haynes electric guitar (1, 3) classical guitar (1, 5, 7) Ryan Driver voice (3, 9, 10, 13) synths (4, 11) organ (11) flute (6) triangles (9, 10) harmonica (3) penny whistle (3) drum, el. bass (2) celeste (11) Thom Gill voice (2, 6) elec1tric guitar (2, 6) organ (6, 9, 10) Wurlitzer (2, 6) electric bass (2, 6) Andrew Downing acoustic bass (9, 10) cellos (11) celeste (8) John Southworth guitar (2) piano (2) voice (2, 11) Nick Fraser drums (7, 13) weird horns (7) voice (13) Felicity Williams  voice (6, 12) Alex Samaras voice (11) Michael Davidson vibraphone (1,6, 12) celeste (1) Rebecca Hennessy trumpet (12) accordion (12) Jim Lewis trumpet (1) flugelhorn (1, 7) Scott Thompson voice (1)Susanna Hood voice (1) Martin Arnold banjo (4) Janet Macpherson voice (4) Meaghan LaCroix voice (3)Yesim Tosuner clarinets (8) Larry Graves drums, voice (13) Dave Clark drum, voice (13) Jake Oelrichs drum, voice (13) Joe Sorbara drum, voice (13)


hobson’s choice “of the waves” CD release

The Toronto Downtown Jazz Festival and Barnyard Records are proud to present: Hobson’s Choice – ‘Of The Waves’ CD release. A follow up to the group’s two independently released EPs, ‘Of The Waves’ is a collaboration between Hobson’s Choice and producer Jean Martin of Barnyard Records. ‘Of The Waves’ is the newest release from the label known internationally for producing some of Toronto’s finest creative music.

Hobson’s Choice is a Toronto based chamber-jazz quartet comprised of Michael Davidson on vibraphone, Rebecca Hennessy on trumpet, Felicity Williams on voice, and Harley Card, voice and acoustic guitar. The group’s music falls somewhere between jazz, instrumental chamber music, and singer songwriter.

With a distinctive instrumentation and a broad notion of song form, Hobson’s Choice is a collaborative project that features compositions by all four members. The four instruments work as equal parts of the band, each providing melody, harmony, rhythm, and texture over the course of a performance. Compositions bridge the gap between lyric based songs growing out of popular music traditions and instrumental pieces that are more indicative of chamber music. The improvisation embedded in jazz informs the music’s creation, from it’s conception through each successive performance.

Click on the poster for tickets